and your to blame…dom~dom…you give love a bad name…”

No, that wasn’t todays sermon….but those words from that old song (the Sarah version of the Bon Jovi classic)  reverberated through my brain as I sat down to post photos of the good and not so good moments from this weekend…

Friday night was wonderful…birds were twittering, our homeschool promotion dinner was a smashing success and I believe all three of this year’s seniors felt loved and appreciated.

(Hannah’s senior table)

(beauteous flowers each mom received)

Saturday was an off sorts kind of day, but we still got a lot done on the front porch

 and my fil came and helped hubby finish it up!

(Bessie’s face lift….now Hannah and I need to stain it!)

Sunday…we woke up…went to church, had some great worship and then had a beautiful sermon on resting in Christ when things aren’t so restful…when the cake has burned, when your world is falling apart…

And how David penned this verse after experiencing God’s faithfulness in the verse before it and he knew who he could lean upon…

Psalm 131

A song of ascents. Of David.

 1 My heart is not proud, O LORD,
       my eyes are not haughty;
       I do not concern myself with great matters
       or things too wonderful for me.
 

  2 But I have stilled and quieted my soul;
       like a weaned child with its mother,
       like a weaned child is my soul within me.

 3 O Israel, put your hope in the LORD
       both now and forevermore.
  

It was a wonderful exposition…and I thought…”there’s the rub.”  It is so easy to be calm on the inside when the whole world is “birds tweetering” and “sun shining”…but not so easy when your day is out of control and people are hurtful…

My family and I met my in-laws and daughter and son-in-law for lunch…it being mil’s birthday…that part was wonderful….we had driven two cars, so dearest could pick up a little more wood to finish off the front porch and some siding to fix a snafoo I had with the outdoor grill and the side of Bessie (she’s forgiven me)….

I came home with the daughters to find my “free” endcap newspaper composting/weed control  material being strewn about by the wind, Hannah and I tacked it back in place and watered it back in…

Keep joyful?  Sure, why not…garden’s require upkeep…a good allegory in that….but I digress…

I sit down at our school table to solder an early piece that I needed to redo the ring on…it was one of my first pieces and now I have learned how to do it better! 

(counting the cost…how appropriate…)

I  plugged in my soldering gun…my eye is drawn to the corner of the floor and wall…what’s that…water pushing up from under the flooring…for any of you that have used laminate flooring you know this is the death knell tolling…

I investigate further…yes, definitely squishy…was it the rain…is the mobile falling apart at the seams…is everyone right who thought we were crazy to buy this puppy?

No, I walk into the kitchen…remembering the sermon, remembering that peace in the moment is to be prized…what perfect timing…

The floor before the kitchen sink is squishy too, I know…what gives?

I hear a slight hissing coming from behind my fridge, I pull it out…there is a pin hole leak in my fridge tubing from the water line that connects my main water supply to my icemaker/water dispenser…sigh…

I pull out the fridge…puddles…

(these kitchen pics are after all the nasty flooring was pulled up…then we pulled up the old vinyl…it was wet underneath it…icky)

just a small pinhole leak has caused this…

I pulled up most of the flooring in the schoolroom before Lane even got home and started drying it out…I called him at Lowe’s and asked if he couldn’t buy a new connector for the fridge…Sure he says…why?

You DON’T want to know…but I tell him, reminding him of the sermon…and our to-do list for getting ready for 2nd oldest daughter’s high school graduation and cookout next Saturday suddenly grew by leaps and bounds…

but that’s okay….

He’s installing tile in the kitchen…

every cloud has a silver lining….

 2 But I have stilled and quieted my soul;
       like a weaned child with its mother,
       like a weaned child is my soul within me.

Thank you Lord for the sermon from Brother Andrew today and its sweet timeliness that kept us cool and thankful through the unexpected mess….Thank you for a wonderful husband who is a can do kind of guy when the going gets tough!  Thank you for the money to pay for all materials with plenty to spare…no credit cards needed…

thank you…thank you…thank you!

 

 

