Dear Hubby decided he would like more light off the back of the house…I agreed…

We purchased this cute light to replace the front one he will move to the back!

Isn’t it cute?

Here’s the front porch as it stands right now…

All the railing removed and the “skirting” tossed…I have washed it and we plan to build new steps on each side and a double off the front…then stain it and build new rails…

The front porch idea came about from this article in this magazine…here’s an unpaid advertisement…I love this magazine…it is one of the few that have kept a place in my heart since the early days of my marriage…

 Here’s the cover of April 2010

and it was in here that I spotted this:

Squeal!  Just look at that adorable railing…isn’t it cute?

So my hubby trimmed our cedars…he was going to do this anyway…this idea just hastened it…

Nice hair trim for spring!

And I purchased my 2nd power tool!  I know, I know, I am a funny girl!

It’s a batter-powered chainsaw with 8″ bar, self-oiling button and light on the ears gentle rumble…compared with the honey’s gas powered model…and although it asks to be respected, it doesn’t scare me…

18V Cordless Chainsaw

But it’s just right for me and stripping these cedar branches

 down to this, usable railings….

Plus, I’m recycling cedar boards that are bug and rot proof into nice, sturdy rails…

