Tonight….after doing these things:

  • wake up too late because of allergies
  • trip to orthodontists office
  • child to tennis try outs
  • delivery of furniture to a friend
  • school work outlined and directed for the day

We go work at Bessie…it is Monday…yesterday was a blessed day…I don’t know how to put it other than that….some days just go right…straight down the pike…today is another such day…busy, but no unforeseen glitches in the rather chaotic plan…

and I wonder…why are some days smooth and others “miserable failures”…some feel touched while others feel doomed?

and I don’t know the answer, but I know enough to be tremendously thankful when the “on” days are happening…I might crank the music a little louder, throw my hands in the air with more passionate abandon, smile at my kiddoes more easily…love that husband more deeply…

but not all days are like that…

Rinnah and I meet Mr. Undaunted at Bessie…we bring hamburgers….then she and I get to work installing the flooring in the dining/den room…and as I do a row, I am prodded…

“Look Sarah, you can only lay one plank at a time…you can’t move ahead…until you’ve done this one…the one right before you…and if it isn’t plumb they will all be off…”

“Look again, Sarah…you don’t have to think about the next row and how you are going to start it yet…finish the one before you…don’t anticipate what is coming…but be faithful with what is before you right now…”

ohhhhhhh….I get it….one plank at a time….one task at a time…one relationship at a time…one care at a time….

Lord…make my work plumb….to Your glory!

